How do you eat when you’re vegan and food allergies?

0
140

How do you eat when you’re vegan and food allergies?

Allergies to vegetarian protein sources may make eating a challenge.

If your food is allergic or intolerant, your diet is, of course, limited by your choice. People, by contrast, choose to be vegetarian for many reasons. These reasons range from the desire to avoid meat that leads to better health or more energy, commitment to strong religious or moral beliefs, and concerns about the safety of food supplies.

Whatever the motivation, combining a variety of restrictive diets can be challenging, and many people with food allergies worry about whether they are likely to get enough nutrients through a vegetarian diet. Whether these concerns are justified depends on which foods are sensitive. For example, dairy products and eggs are not included in traditional vegan foods, and many vegetarians eat healthy, varied diets.

But other food allergies pose a bigger challenge for vegetarians. Although some foods (such as wheat) are suitable for a variety of categories, allergenic vegetarian foods are generally classified as non-meat protein sources and are used as cereals for food and fruits and vegetables.

Here are some foods that need to be replaced in your diet, some alternative foods to consider, and some of the obstacles you might encounter if you are allergic to some particularly common foods.

How to deal with protein allergy?

You need protein to repair cells, grow and develop.

Small steps to keep fit.

When it comes to health resolutions for the New Year, focus on small things that can be easily maintained throughout the year. Follow this one-month guide to provide daily tips.

Start now

Unfortunately, many of the common sources of protein in vegetarian diets include allergens – most commonly soy, wheat (such as seitan), peanuts and nuts.

Your body needs about four to six ounces of protein a day, whereas men need six to eight ounces (though some may need higher or lower protein).

That’s 45 grams for women and 55 for men.

Most foods, even green vegetables like broccoli and cabbage, contain at least a small amount of protein. But some foods – meat, dairy, seafood, beans and some grains – are more dense than others. Protein is one of the most common first questions that many people have when they start a vegetarian diet, but in fact, protein requirements in the human body are often easily met with plant sources.

Francis Moore, culture (Francis MooreLappe) in her “little Planet Diet (Diet for a Small Planet) in the 20th anniversary edition of claims, in general, people eat enough quantity of heat only lack of protein, if their Diet is highly dependent on a Small amount of low protein food. That hasn’t changed. Most people, even vegetarians, don’t even think about their protein needs.

However, some common allergens are often used as vegetarian proteins and therefore deserve special consideration.

Soybeans are a vegetarian staple in the form of tofu and bean forms. You can find it in packaged vegetable soup, in place of bars, frozen foods, and as a protein-rich “soy nut” or “soy nut butter”. If you’re allergic to soy, you might get enough protein, but you need to make sure you plan your diet and get 4-8 ounces of protein a day.

You will also find that many vegetarian foods, especially dairy substitutes, are prohibited. You need to avoid meat substitutes, which are usually made from soybeans (some are made from wheat). Check the label.

The other foods most commonly used as meat substitutes are wheat, in the form of wheat gluten (wheat gluten). It is sometimes sold as pie for vegetarian chili. Wheat is also a common adhesive in soy vegetarian burgers. In addition, peanuts and nuts are sometimes used to make veggie burgers, although they are not common meat substitutes.

If you are allergic to one or more high-protein vegetarian protein sources, you need to meet your protein needs in other ways.

Amaranth, quinoa and pomelo are the first choice for vegetarian non-allergenic protein sources. The three grains are not well known in the United States, but are suitable for vegan diets, high in protein and gluten-free.

Whole-wheat amaranth and quinoa are fairly easy to find, and quinoa is increasingly used in major supermarkets. Ethiopian grain Teff may be harder to find, but some health food stores or grocery stores may be in stock.

Those allergy cereal substitutes.

Grains, especially whole grains, are an important source of carbohydrates, a source of human energy. Many are also rich in B vitamins. The U.S. department of agriculture recommends that adults eat three ounces of whole grains every day.

However, many people are allergic to certain grains, including (most commonly) wheat, corn and barley. When you’re a vegetarian, you will find many vegetarian main course selection, is the basis of the food in the diet and restaurant: pasta, polenta, couscous, risotto, soup, pasta or barley or corn Latin cuisine.

Wheat is the only one of the eight most common food allergens, and is used as a source of grains and protein. Pasta, couscous, bread and many grains are food for wheat allergy or CD vegetarians.

However, it is largely due to the increase in the number of people diagnosed with these diseases, the market can almost imagine that any wheat food has a good substitute. Most supermarkets offer gluten-free pasta, cereal and bread. Any food labeled gluten-free is also safe for barley allergy.

Corn, on the other hand, may be the saddest food allergy to live with. Corn itself is not just a very common grain (idea: cornflakes, polenta, tortillas and grains), but it is also very common in processed foods.

Corn syrup, glucose and xanthan gum are just some of the common ingredients in corn. In fact, it’s hard to provide a complete list because the list of foods made from corn is so frequent. Unlike wheat, maize is not subject to labelling laws, which require a clear indication of the presence of maize on the ingredient list.

So-called “alternative” grains have become more widespread over the past decade, adding much-needed varieties to your diet. In addition to amaranth, quinoa and tea, you can also try millet, sorghum and cassava. Rice is another common grain and is considered less sensitive.

Fruit and vegetable allergies are easy to manage.

Fruits and vegetables are important sources of micronutrients (vitamins and minerals) and antioxidants. Your body needs different vitamins. The usda recommends two cups of fruit and two and a half cups of vegetables a day to help you get these important nutrients.

The most common variants include Onions, celery, tomatoes, garlic, apples, melons and oranges.

Fortunately, unlike many foods already mentioned, fruits and vegetables are not a common “hidden ingredient” in processed foods. In general, you will find that their own names are mentioned on the label and are used less food than other allergens.

The biggest difficulty for such people is the allergy to aromatic vegetables – Onions, garlic, celery, or similar vegetables, to add flavor to soups or other cooked foods. These vegetables appear in countless recipes and are found in many processed foods.

In particular, if you are allergic to certain vegetables, you may find it difficult to buy the packaged vegetable broth, which is used not only as soup but as a basis for cereal cooking. Try making your own, so you can use any aromatic and delicious vegetables you can eat.

Otherwise, in addition to avoiding allergens, you need to understand the vitamins and minerals that are particularly rich in foods that you can’t eat, and find other sources of nutrients. For example, if you can’t eat green leafy vegetables, and you follow a vegan diet, you may need to be especially careful about your iron intake.

Meal planning and more.

If you avoid common allergens in the vegetarian, consider at least some time to plan your meals in advance, to ensure that you are eating all kinds of food, and you get enough nutrients to the food that you can’t eat.

You can try to make a list of foods you want to add to your diet, and do it once or twice a week. This is a great way to reduce the consumption of new grains or vegetables, and not overwhelm yourself with new flavors.

To tend to a vegetarian diet staple foods such as soy or corn, or the relatively common foods have multiple food allergies, strongly consider cooperate with a dietitian or nutritionist, to ensure that you are eating a healthy diet. These professionals may recommend ignoring good sources of nutrition, helping to determine the safe and non-allergenic sources of your body’s likely needs, and assist with meal planning.

Some nutritionists and dietitians have special expertise in food allergy and intolerance. Contact your local allergist or allergy support group to see if they offer advice to practitioners in your area.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here